Skip to content

Rules we don’t always follow

June 24, 2012

Now that may seem silly but I’m not sure it is.  As upholstery is a hobby for me I want to enjoy it.  I don’t have to force myself to another day at the upholstery coal face on a Monday morning, rather it should be my leisurely Saturday afternoon pursuit.  But I don’t enjoy it if there are hundreds of other things I really should be doing.  That said, I don’t have to have a ribbon in my hair to settle down to some quality upholstery time.  But this weekend there were lots of chores beckoning and that was my plan.  By Sunday afternoon it was gardening time by which I mean tackling what was rapidly vying for becoming the national collection of bindweed.  I started.  It started to rain.  I come in in a huff.  I spy a little stool which has been irritating me for sometime.

annoying stool

This was an experiment.  A lovely little sherborne stool I had reupholstered a while back in an ikea throw.  This was because I wanted a cheap source of some boucle.  I love boucle.  Bute fabrics do some beautiful fabrics including some boucle but cheap it isn’t.  But this particular experiment had had its day and I wanted something fresh for summer (laughs hollowly).

But I shouldn’t have tackled this today.  I wasn’t really in the mood.  There was no upholstering just making a new cover but it was a bit fiddly as I needed to get the shape right.  I rushed at it.  I haven’t done it as well as I should and can.

annoying stool but in a different way

One of the things I get from upholstery is the sense of satisfaction – I stand back and admire my work.  I derive pleasure from the sense of accomplishment.  But I do not derive any pleasure from this, it just isn’t good enough I mean, look at that puckering – it’s embarrassing – and I should have known better than to carry on.  It may last the summer, it may not.

From → Upholstery

2 Comments
  1. I hope you don’t mind me stealing the singer advice
    for FB – it’s just brilliant!

Leave a comment